Return to Headlines

2018 Excellence in Communication Awards

(ALSPRA) - Dr. Kathy L. Murphy has received the 2018 Excellence in Communications Award for Outstanding Leadership in School/Community Relations from ALSPRA.

ALSPRA presented the award at its 2018 Spring Conference held in Alabaster on March 1, 2018. Dr. Murphy earned the award based on her lifelong commitment to public education through excellence in communication and leadership.

In addition the Excellence in Communications Awards for Outstanding Leadership in School/Community Relations, ALSPRA also named Cindy Warner (Shelby County Schools) as this year’s recipient of the Nez Calhoun Distinguished Service Award and Whitlee Lusk (Jefferson County Schools) as the 2018 Communicator of the Year.

The Alabama School Public Relations Association is Alabama’s only organization dedicated to professional development as it relates to K12 school communications. The organization is comprised of school public relations practitioners, principals, teachers, superintendents and other roles from school systems across Alabama.